Soundtrack to a life story.

soundtrack

If you’ve ever talked to me about writing, then you know that I’m a big advocate of the story soundtrack.  It’s one of the first things I do when I’m trying to get my head into a story, developing the characters and the world.  Some songs are so tied to stories and characters in my head that I can’t listen to them without being momentarily transported into a certain scene, or feeling that a character has.

You get a little dependent on these soundtracks, so, when you transfer to a new computer and suddenly your playlists don’t work anymore… well, things get a little messy.  And guess where I am.

So at the moment I’m trying to reconstruct the soundtrack to my main project at the moment, a sort of Young Adult fairytale fantasy.  A soundtrack that had nearly a hundred songs on it.

But on the positive side of things, this is giving me the chance to not only re-evaluate the music I’ve selected for this novel (a lot of Badly Drawn Boy, Nickel Creek, Feist, stuff that brings open countrysides and beautiful expanses to mind), meaning I get to throw out the duds that didn’t really fit the story, the ones I’ve left on out of laziness, but it also means I get to add some fresh new things into the mix, new stuff, like Vienna Teng, who I’ve recently fallen completely in love with.

This song, in particular, just crystallizes everything my main character is.

Vienna Teng, “The Tower” (or listen to it at last.fm)

I need not to need
I’ve always been the tower
But now I feel like I’m the flower trying to bloom in snow

*******

I love that last line above especially, because I think that’s just where my character is.  She’s very used to having to be strong and seperate, but when major events and uncovered secrets change everything for her, she not only has to learn how to depend on others, but she really steps into her own for the first time, definitely “trying to bloom,” because there’s that yearning there, too.  Just a perfect song.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    You already know how I feel about Vienna Teng. Her song Recessional is P/A’s theme song and when I hear it I can literally see them acting it out in my head. Her music is fantastic! You may have to introduce me to some Feist! I’ve heard some good things, but I’ve never really heard her stuff specifically. 🙂

    After listening to THE TOWER, I agree. It’s perfect. Even the mood really fits!!! 🙂 How thrilling.

  2. 2

    tiemeinwords said,

    Doesn’t it?

    Oh, Isabelle, you NEED to hear Feist. I think you would enjoy her. She has such a fantastic sound. Sort of Imogen Heap but a little more mellow.

  3. 3

    […] bookmarks tagged badly drawn boy Soundtrack to a life story. saved by 1 others     xxYumikoChanxx bookmarked on 03/07/09 | […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

